Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Matthew R.R. Morrese  




Book: Waking Wonderland - being the first part of Edith's Misadventures Under Ground (The War for Wonder Book 1) by Matthew R.R. Morrese

Book: Waking Wonderland - being the first part of Edith's Misadventures Under Ground (The War for Wonder Book 1) by Matthew R.R. Morrese

categories: Book, Literary Fiction, Lewis Carroll, Gothic, Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass, Classic Literature, Alice Sequel, Young Adult Fantasy


Matthew R.R. Morrese

Author Matthew R.R. Morreseabout this book: After studying Dodgsen's collective works as Carroll for many years, and witnessing some rather unenlightened references by others to his imaginations without any attempt to understand them or him, his life, or the context of the very words and ideas presented, I embarked on a journey to do the opposite. Modestly, I believe I've accomplished that task (at least in part).

Of course, let me be clear, I am neither down-casting nor antagonizing those who found such amazing brilliance in Carroll's work that they took their own journey derived from it – that's part of what makes his figure in the literary world such a giant. However, I have endeavored to return to—and tread upon—"that beaten highroad" to confront the imaginings of a man who knew no limit to his own, to continue his work, and honor his legacy as a storyteller.

"Waking Wonderland" is a direct sequel set 4 years after the events of "Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There." It is the first in a series to 'reawaken' Wonderland to readers in the same political and social commentary fashion of Carroll's hand. In this inspiringly tragic, charmingly gothic, and mysteriously moving work, Edith Liddell walks into a land of Wonder gone wrong to discover the truth about the sister that turned her life upside down.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Matthew R.R. Morrese

Sybil and the Floot-Snoot - A Little Sybil Liltshyr Adventure (Little Sybil Liltshyr...
The Life and Lore of Winterstide (The Canticles Mythos Series Book 4) by Matthew R.R. Morrese
The First Fallen (The Canticles Mythos Series Book 2) by Matthew R.R. Morrese
The First Sires (The Canticles Mythos Series Book 1) by Matthew R.R. Morrese

Video: Waking Wonderland Teaser Trailer: Being the First Fyt in the War for Wonder

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Alyce Leaves Wonderland by Nataisha T Hill
   • Book Review: Her Mad Hatter (Kingdom Series - Book 1) by Marie Hall

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.