Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Mark E. Cooper  



Book: Merkiaari Wars Series - Books 1-3 by Mark E. Cooper

Book Review: Merkiaari Wars Series - Books 1-3 by Mark E. Cooper

categories: Book, Space Battle, Galactic Empire, Alien Invasion, Cyborg Soldier, Artificial Intelligence, Space Opera


Mark E. Cooper

Author Mark E. Cooperabout this boxed set: The Merkiaari Wars series is a boxset containing three science fiction stories I wrote while working as an engineer for Ford. I always loved books by David Weber, John Ringo, C.J Cherryh... especially Cherryh's Chanur books, and wanted to write about things I loved about them.

Epic space battles are Weber's forte, exciting ground wars are John Ringo's area of expertise, but Cherryh's magic is best found (in my opinion) in her Chanur novels. Her alien characters live real lives in my memory. I wanted to create a universe where all these things could happen.

In Hard Duty (book 1) I introduce a universe where humanity is cautiously exploring the galaxy after a terrible war. Our one and only encounter with aliens nearly destroyed us. 200 years later, it's time to venture out again, but what if there are other dangers out there beside the Merkiaari? Captain Colgan of the survey ship ASN Canada finds out.

What does it mean to be human? All of my books explore this question, especially in What Price Honour (book 2) and Operation Oracle (book 3) In those stories, we learn about the 501st Infantry Regiment. The 501st is hailed as being directly responsible for victory in the last war, but the soldiers paid a terrible price. They gave up the thing they were fighting for--their humanity. Transformed with nanotech into cyborg super soldiers, they theoretically could live forever, but of course they don't. Thrown desperately into the hottest battles, the regiment was decimated, but what happened to the survivors. We begin to find out 200 years on in The Merkiaari Wars series.

Mark E. Cooper

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

 Cracking series

A great series of books, well written and with constantly developing characters, a great book by book plot line as well as building an over arching series plot line. 10 / 10. Recommended to all sci fi fans! [by Col]

 read reviews on or submit your own review 

Video 1: 30 minute segment of Hard Duty: Merkiaari Wars #1 by Mark E. Cooper, and narrated by Mikael Naramore
Video 2: What Price Honour (Merkiaari Wars #2) narrated by Mikael Naramore

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Galactic Empire Wars - Emergence (The Galactic Empire Wars Book 2) by Raymond L. Weil
   • Book Review: The Empire of Ruin - Chronicles of the Second Empire (The Chronicles of the Second Interstellar Empire of ...

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.