Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by M T McGuire  




Book: One Man - No Plan, K'Barthan Series - Part 3 by M T McGuire

Book: One Man - No Plan, K'Barthan Series - Part 3 by M T McGuire

categories: Book, Adventure, Fantasy, Romance, Humour, Young Adult, Teens, Parallel Worlds, Comedy, Fantasy Adventure, Science Fiction


M T McGuire

Author M T McGuireabout this book: This book is the third in the K'Barthan Series (formerly known as the K'Barthan Trilogy... until I realised that the last book was really two books... and it had to become something else).

There is little to put here, that I haven't already said when I was writing up books 1 and 2 for this site. I could cite the 1960s sci-fi influences, the comic books, the music, but I've said it before. Briefly then:

When I sat down to write these books, I didn't think about what would sell or whether anything was a bit too left field. Neither did I think about giving people simple names like Bob or Fred. I just wrote what was happening in my head.

If I want to be published by anyone other than myself then, someday, I know, I must write a commercially viable, pukka, publishable novel about, oh I don't know, sparkly vampires or something.

But this is not it.

The K'Barthan Series is written for me. If anyone else likes it, too, that's grand.

In this instalment, there is less action. If the phoenix is to rise from the ashes he must be comprehensively char-grilled first. We find our hero at his lowest ebb. Thrown over by the love of his life for his nemesis, Lord Vernon, The Pan of Hamgee is pardoned for all misdemeanours, released, given a business to run and a year to adjust to legal existence. But it isn't that simple in five days he knows K'Barth will be destroyed and alone and friendless, The Pan must try to avert disaster.

Finally he understands who he is and steps up to meet his fate.

Like the two before it, this work has been compared to Rankin, Fforde, Adams, Pratchett, Holt and Red Dwarf.



• "All in all a great third book... that leaves me waiting eagerly for the next instalment, which is all set up to be a cracker. And speaking of crackers, Humbert shows some real sparkle: I love that parrot." — David Staniforth, on Goodreads.

• "I won't be the only one hardly daring to breathe till we find out what happens in Book 4." — Ignite Amazon top 500 reviewer, on Amazon.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by M T McGuire

Looking For Trouble - K\'Barthan Series - Part 4 by M T McGuire
The Wrong Stuff, K\'Barthan Series - Part 2 by M T McGuire
Few Are Chosen, K\'Barthan Series - Part 1 by M T McGuire

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Few Are Chosen, K'Barthan Series - Part 1 by M T McGuire
   • Book Review: Looking For Trouble - K'Barthan Series - Part 4 by M T McGuire

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.