Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by M T McGuire  




Book: Few Are Chosen, K'Barthan Series - Part 1 by M T McGuire

Book: Few Are Chosen, K'Barthan Series - Part 1 by M T McGuire

categories: Book, Alien Species, Urban Fantasy, Comedy, Action Adventure, Romance, Bond Cars, Car Chase, Humorous Fantasy, British Humour, Parallel Worlds, Comedy Fantasy, Science Fiction


M T McGuire

Author M T McGuireabout this book: Hello there,

My name is M T McGuire and I've written a series of books called The K'Barthan Trilogy. It took me about 16 years to write, although I suppose it was really 4 because the first 12 or so was the time I spent learning to write a book that I didn't wish someone else had written.

Having finally achieved that, the result was this first book in the series: Few Are Chosen.

The reason I wrote it was because the combination of stuff I want to see in a book wasn't available. That's why I've ended up with a humorous, urban science fiction fantasy adventure - with a dash of romance (no squelchy bits though) and some seriously flash cars.

The story is a good old fashioned battle between good and evil with lots of action, car chases and a few deeper questions, mostly in the nature of what true goodness actually is. A lot of people who might be percieved as 'bad' in my books - bank robbers etc - turn out to have a stronger moral compass than those who are meant to be 'good' resistance fighters, clerics etc. It's been compared to Rankin, Fforde, Adams, Red Dwarf, Pratchett and Tom Holt - pretty much everyone, then. It reflects an ecclectic group of influences: 1960s sci-fi - stuff like the Avengers, the Saint, the Prisoner, the Men from U.N.C.L.E., the original StarTrek and Dr Who. The original 3 StarWars films must have played a part, music, historical novels like the Three Musketeers, music - from Bach to the Beatles - and cartoons like Asterix and Dangermouse.

K'Barth, where the story is set, is a parallel version of earth, and a place where there is more than one sentient, opposable-thumbed, technologically advanced species.

Few Are Chosen, K'Barthan Trilogy: Part 1, follows our hapless hero, The Pan of Hamgee as he tries to survive. He is charming, witty, intelligent and a hopeless coward. Oh yes, and his existence is treason.

All he wants is a quite life but when the state declares you vermin and you can be shot on sight, 'quiet' is not really on the cards. After accidentally burning down a local ganglord's block of flats, The Pan is forced to become a getaway driver in return for his life.

However, things begin to look up. He is good, really good and gains confidence. He begins to believe he might achieve his dream - a new identity and a new life. But then the gang steals a magic thimble and The Pan keeps it. Unwittingly he sets himself on a collision course with Lord Vernon, K'Barth's despot ruler. The thimble also attracts the attention of a mysterious old man who blackmails The Pan and his gang into robbing the world's most impregnable bank. As if that isn't enough, The Pan looks into the open end of the thimble, sees a woman and falls in love.

The heist goes wrong and as the authorities - and others - close in The Pan is running out of places to hide. Worse, he has put the woman he loves in mortal danger. The future looks bleak for both of them but being young, and besotted, he is determined to save her... not to mention himself.

Few Are Chosen, K'Barthan Trilogy: Part 1 is free, pretty much everywhere.

• "Think the Hitch Hiker's Guide with flying Bond cars." — J A Clement (fantasy author).

• "It's a perfect combination of action, superb characterisation and delightful tongue-in-cheek humour... It's not like any other story I've ever read. Yes, it's truly unique." — Awesome Indies

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by M T McGuire

Looking For Trouble - K\'Barthan Series - Part 4 by M T McGuire
One Man - No Plan, K\'Barthan Series - Part 3 by M T McGuire
The Wrong Stuff, K\'Barthan Series - Part 2 by M T McGuire

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Looking For Trouble - K'Barthan Series - Part 4 by M T McGuire
   • Book Review: One Man - No Plan, K'Barthan Series - Part 3 by M T McGuire

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.