Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Shanda Adams  



Book: Selfish Motives - Ozark Destinies Series Book Two by Shanda Adams

Book: Selfish Motives - Ozark Destinies Series Book Two by Shanda Adams

categories: Book, Vampires, Shapeshifters, Prophecy, Destiny, Oracle, Paranormal Fantasy


Shanda Adams

Author Shanda Adamsabout this book: I started working on this series in February of 2009, wanting to create a different world of vampires, a different means of becoming one, this being the type of stories, the other paranormal book series, that I've been drawn to reading. Culling various attributes of vampires from folklore over the centuries and from around the world created characters with a range of abilities. And by including shapeshifting, I was able to make this an underground society that was more at war with itself, with one other, than a need for the more typical vampire vs. werewolf scenarios I've read in order to create an enemy. Book three does, however, bring in to play another type of paranormal being, other supernatural elements.

When I began this series, it wasn't with an ending in mind; in fact, I always intended it to open-ended, and maybe more accurately described as a serial than series, an on-going story with uncertain fates leading the reader on to the next book. I've read series that are self-contained 'episodes', resolving a danger or trial at the end with a whole new adventure in the next book, as well as those that leave some questions, some things still to be resolved, but find I really get pulled into latter, look forward to a whole other book's worth of involvement in the characters' lives. The best stories are the ones you're sorry to see come to an end, however satisfyingly, simply because you wish you could read more about the characters. Being cliff-hangers, to some extent, I wanted to be able to release the books just months apart, rather than a year between, as is often the case especially with physical books, and by self-publishing ebooks, have been fortunate to have that option and ability.

With four books written, to date, lately I've been considering wrapping up loose ends in book five, making further books stand-alone adventures; the story line and inevitable future wars will always allow for one more book in a long running series. And hopefully my readership will have also have found 'friends' in the characters, as I have, that they'll want to keep up with. Given the five star reviews the first book, Once Awakened, has been getting, I'm happy knowing at least that I've brought a few hours enjoyment into some people lives.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other book by Shanda Adams

Once Awakened - Ozark Destinies Series Book One by Shanda Adams

Once Awakened - Ozark Destinies Series Book...

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Once Awakened - Ozark Destinies Series Book One by Shanda Adams
   • Book Review: Cherishing Destiny (A Dangerous Destiny) by Noelle Blakely

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.