Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Sharon Ihle  



Book: Wildcat (The Wild Women Series, Book 2) by Sharon Ihle

Book: Wildcat (The Wild Women Series, Book 2) by Sharon Ihle

categories: Book, Western, Love, Cowboy, Calamity Jane, Deadwood, Wild Bill Hickok, Historical Romance

Sharon Ihle

Author Sharon Ihleabout this book: This really was a wild story to write! I have always been fascinated by the tales and crazy characters that came out of Deadwood back in the 19th Century. The standouts, at least in my mind, are Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane, two of the most colorful people to ever come out of the American West. I couldn't wait to write a book that included these two, and that's how I came to pen Wildcat.

Research is all important to me when writing historical romance, and when I can manage the journey, I always like to visit the places I'm going to write about. First step in this novel was a road trip to Deadwood, still a colorful place but mostly because it's lit up by so many casinos! I chose the year 1876 for this novel because that was the year Wild Bill Hickok was murdered as he sat playing cards in the No. 10 Saloon. My husband and I actually attended a recreation of the murderer's trial, and I included that trial in the book.

You might be wondering 'what's so romantic about a murder?' Hickok's demise is only a small part of this book, but he figures prominently in the lives of both our hero and heroine. The hero, Lucky Luke McCanles, is a good friend and stage partner to Wild Bill. His dark good looks and playful way of handling himself are a magnet to quiet Ann Marie Cannary, who is a cautious and reserved young woman when she arrives in Deadwood, unannounced. Luke finds Annie's almost timid demeanor hard to believe--after all, she is the sister of Martha Jane Cannary, otherwise known as Calamity Jane. It isn't long before Luke finds himself drawn to the candy-making sister of Calamity, and he promptly nicknames her Stormy. Their love and the redemption Luke seeks to find are woven throughout Deadwood's history and sometimes crazy past.

As I imagined, the book took a few wild turns with such boisterous and mischievous characters setting the stage. I had a lot of fun writing this novel and sincerely hope that readers will feel the same way.

• "In Wildcat Sharon Ihle succeeds in bringing the vibrant color and unbridled passion of the west to full-blooded life...A love story that rings with exuberance, reality, and triumph."

• "A tender love story...passionate and strong-willed."

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Sharon Ihle (more)

Pistols and Petticoats by Barbara Ankrum, Adrienne deWolfe & Sharon Ihle
Dear Penelope by Sharon Ihle
The Bride Wore Feathers (The Proud Ones, Book 1) by Sharon Ihle
The Half-breed Bride (The Proud Ones, Book 2) by Sharon Ihle
To Love A Scoundrel (The Law and Disorder Series, Book 1) by Sharon Ihle
A Lawman for Maggie (The Law and Disorder Series, Book 3) by Sharon Ihle
The Outlaw was no Lady (The Law and Disorder Series, Book 2) by Sharon Ihle

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Wild Hearts (The Wild Women Series, Book 4) by Sharon Ihle
   • Book Review: Wild Rose (The Wild Women Series, Book 3) by Sharon Ihle

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.