Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Ann Tatlock  



Book: A Room of My Own (Legacy Series) by Ann Tatlock

Book: A Room of My Own (Legacy Series) by Ann Tatlock

categories: Book, Great Depression, Christian, Depression Era, Women, Homeschoolers, Coming of Age, Historical Fiction


Ann Tatlock

Author Ann Tatlockabout this book: A Room of My Own is a coming-of-age story set during the Great Depression, in 1932. It's the story of 13-year-old Virginia Eide, the daughter of a well-off physician who dreams of romance and traveling the world. But when her father begins giving medical aid to the residents of Soo City, a local shantytown, Virginia goes along to help him and begins to learn the meaning of servanthood.

A Room of My Own is an engaging, fact-filled story. Homeschoolers have used this book to learn about the Great Depression, as it is filled with facts about the era. In our materialistic society, the book gives readers pause to think about the greater joy of giving (of oneself, one's time and talents) rather than accumulating things.

I did a great deal of research for this book. This was written in 1995-96 before I had access to the internet, so I read many books and old magazines like Life and Look, watched documentaries, interviewed folks who had lived during the Depression, and read 1932 medical journals kept in the medical library of the University of Minnesota.

Good novels do far more than entertain. Good stories teach, inspire, challenge, encourage, give hope and, as C.S. Lewis said, "baptize the imagination." Novels are excellent vehicles for spreading God's truths. Novels are life-changing! Here's hoping you will read a story today that will do a good work in your mind and heart.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Ann Tatlock

Every Secret Thing by Ann Tatlock
Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock
I\'ll Watch the Moon (Legacy Series) by Ann Tatlock
A Place Called Morning (Legacy Series) by Ann Tatlock
All The Way Home (Legacy Series) by Ann Tatlock
Once Beyond a Time by Ann Tatlock

Video 1: Review of Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock
Video 2: Promises to Keep by Ann Tatlock

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Riding the Rails - Teenagers on the Move During the Great Depression by Errol Lincoln Uys
   • Book Review: In High Cotton by Ane Mulligan

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.