Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Rebecca Bryn  




Book: On Different Shores (For Their Country's Good Book 1) by Rebecca Bryn

Book: On Different Shores (For Their Country's Good Book 1) by Rebecca Bryn

categories: Book, Historical Romance, Victorian Romance, Convict Transportation, Convict Ships, Australia, Van Diemen's Land, Travel Fiction, Romance Saga, Australian History, Crime and Punishment, Love Story, Historical Fiction


Rebecca Bryn

Author Rebecca Brynabout this book: One illicit kiss changes the course of Ella's life. Sent away to distance her from her employer's son, she falls for Jem, the bad boy of Yardley Hastings. But the Reverend Buchanan, who takes on the responsibility for Ella's well-being has other ideas. Unsure that Jem loves her, she agrees to marry Harry, the son of a respectable farmer. But married life doesn't go smoothly and in desperation Ella runs away to be with Jem.

Things go from bad to worse when Jem is convicted of killing Lord Northampton's gamekeeper in Yardley Chase. He and two cousins are transported to Van Diemen's Land in 1841, leaving behind a pregnant and penniless Ella. Determined her child will know its father, Ella sacrifices all to follow the man she loves, but the course of true love doesn't run smoothly. Will they ever see one another again?

For Their Country's Good trilogy was inspired by my family history. My g-g-great uncle was Jem, and he and his cousins were convicted of killing the gamekeeper. Their story has been recreated here from trial transcripts, convict records, and newspaper reports of the time. It has been a fascinating journey.

• 'Truly exceptional trilogy from one of the finest writers of our time.' — Amazon review

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Rebecca Bryn (more)

Kindred and Affinity - When the man you love marries the sister you hate. A family saga of...
For Their Country\'s Good Box Set - Exiled to Van Diemen\'s Land for their country\'s good by...
The Dandelion Clock - A wish to end all wishes. The war to end all wars. by Rebecca Bryn
On Common Ground (For Their Country\'s Good Book 3) by Rebecca Bryn
Beneath Strange Stars (For Their Country\'s Good Book 2) by Rebecca Bryn
WHERE HOPE DARES - The Gift of Prophecy by Rebecca Bryn

Video: For Their Country’s Good - an historical saga - book trailer

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: For Their Country's Good Box Set - Exiled to Van Diemen's Land for their country's good by Rebecca Bryn
   • Book Review: Beneath Strange Stars (For Their Country's Good Book 2) by Rebecca Bryn

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.