Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Jane Ann McLachlan  




Book: The Girl Who Would Be Queen (The Kingdom of Naples Book 1) by Jane Ann McLachlan

Book: The Girl Who Would Be Queen (The Kingdom of Naples Book 1) by Jane Ann McLachlan

categories: Book, Medieval Novel, 14th Century Italy, Famous Sisters, Cultural Heritage Literature, Literary Fiction, The Middle Ages, Queens in History, Historical Fiction


Jane Ann McLachlan

Author Jane Ann McLachlanabout this book: Princesses Joanna and Maria were raised to be queens. No one prepared them for murder.

The Girl Who Would be Queen is a true historical fiction novel set in 14th Century Naples about two royal sisters. When King Robert the Wise, ruler of one of the wealthiest and most sophisticated kingdoms in Europe, died in January 1342, he named his sixteen-year-old granddaughter, Joanna, as his heir or, if she died without issue, her thirteen-year-old sister Maria. Born in a male-dominated world in the passionate south of Italy and surrounded by ambitious male cousins with an equal claim to the crown, will these sisters be able to maintain control over their kingdom? With only their wits, beauty, and the love of their people to aid them, Joanna and Maria, bound together by their strong love and fierce rivalry, are prepared to do anything to hold onto their beloved kingdom.

This book took several years to complete. While researching it, I traveled to Italy and spent time in Naples visiting Castle Nuovo where the girls lived, as well as walking the old streets of Naples and visiting the cathedrals and other places built during the time these royal sisters lived there. After researching their story and getting "into their heads" it was a thrill to stand where they would have stood and wonder what they were thinking when they were here.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Jane Ann McLachlan

The Sorrow Stone by J. A. McLachlan
The Occasional Diamond Thief (The Unintentional Adventures of Kia and Agatha Book 1) by J. A....
Walls of Wind - The Complete Trilogy by J. A. McLachlan

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Music For My Soul by Lauren Linwood
   • Book Review: A Bit of Heaven on Earth by Lauren Linwood

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.