Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  

  books by D. C. Cowan  




Book: Elemental Angels by D. C. Cowan

Book: Elemental Angels by D. C. Cowan

categories: Book, Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Youth, Elemental, Elements, Guardian Angels

D. C. Cowan

about this book: Elemental Angels is the first novelette published by D. C. Cowan will also published three novels that will be available in January of 2014. Book of Omni and Mount of Truth are the first and third novel of the trilogy. Child of Light is the second novel in the Angelic Heroes trilogy. Many chapters in Elemental Angels are deleted scenes from the second novel, Child of Light. The first and third novels in the Angelic Heroes trilogy are original with no connection to the Elemental Angels books. Although there are many similarities, anyone who reads both the Elemental Angels ebooks and the Child of Light novel will notice that the story goes in two completely different directions. The author certainly does not wish to bore the audience with the same story twice.

The original story was named Guardian Angels and featured dozens of characters who all had guardian angels that supplied them with their powers. So, for example, if a character has the power over wind then his guardian angel also holds that same power. The Guardian Angel story, which was completed around 2006, has been revised and rewritten about five times. In 2010, the author revised the Guardian Angel work to be published under the name Angels: Of Love and Death. There are so many characters that have tragic loves and untimely deaths that the title just seemed to fit. The original story was over 700 pages in length and plot is significantly different from the Child of Light novel. The original story was a tale about many different citizens of the fictional city Arcadia and the horrors they face trying to identify who they are and trying to stop the House of Lords from interfering with their lives. The book Angels: Of Love and Death was never published.

The Elemental Angels series includes twelve volumes of novelettes. At least one scene from the first, second, and fourth volume of Elemental Angels overlaps with the scenes from Child of Light. When you read these ebooks and the second book of the trilogy, notice that some of the dialogue and characters are similar yet different. No chapter from Elemental Angels is exactly the same as a chapter from Child of Light. The author is satisfied with the published work Child of Light, but was not pleased with the idea of cutting out hundreds of pages of the original story in order to smooth it out into the novel. So many chapters were left out and even major characters were left out of the novel Child of Light in order to size down. To publish the book as Child of Light many of the characters names from Angels: Of Love and Death were changed including the main character. Originally she had the name Venus Vulcan, but it was changed to Deva Kiran which means divine ray of light. The name changes were based on character profile changes. The author desired for the names to match the characters personality or background. As a thirteen or fourteen year old, the author chose many names at random thinking "how cool would this name be?" or the character profile had changed so many times that the meaning of the name no longer fit.

Looking back, the author would have preferred to extend the novelettes into several different novels instead of trying to cram it all into one novel. Regardless, the author would like to share the deleted chapters and characters but will take the volumes of Elemental Angels in a different direction. Lastly, the author would like to apologize for the condition of these books. Although they have been thoroughly edited one by one, there may still be flaws here and there in each book. This is one reason why the author has chosen to release these books for free or for a very low price because they are not at the professional level that she would like to have associated with her penname. The series called the Angelic Heroes Trilogy will be released in January 2014 and will be published at a much higher standard as not only ebooks, but also hard copies. Please continue to look for the discounted or free ebooks for the Elemental Angel's series and please consider the Angelic Heroes trilogy as well.

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Video: Angels Series - Anime





More Reviews

   • Book Review: The Truth about Angels, Part I by Alvin Avery
   • Book Review: Inside the Secret World of Angels by Alvin Avery

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.