Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Roger E. Bruner  




Book: A Season of Pebbles (Altered Hearts Book 2) by Roger E. Bruner

Book: A Season of Pebbles (Altered Hearts Book 2) by Roger E. Bruner

categories: Book, Christianity, Guilt, Mission Trips, Quirky, Teen Fiction, Jealousy, Parental Problems, Prison Ministry, California, Divorce, Cell Phone Dangers, God's Leading, Christian Fiction


Roger E. Bruner

Author Roger E. Brunerabout this book: The funny thing about A Season of Pebbles is that it begins with what I'd expected to be the ending of Found in Translation. But when I realized that Found was already getting a bit long, I decided a follow up book was in order.

A Season of Pebbles finds Kim Hartlinger at the San Diego airport on her way home to Georgia after her life-changing time in Mexico. While waiting for her mother at the Atlanta airport, she tries calling several times and finally leaves voice mail. Then she learns that the worst of all possible things has happened. Her mother has died in a car crash that apparently happened while she was listening to voice mail.

Convinced that she's responsible for her mother's death, Kim develops a fatigue problem that prevents her from living any kind of normal life--she can't even go to school for a number of months.

I won't tell you any more about the story, but I will share this. When my daughter was in the eighth grade, she experienced a very similar fatigue problem. The doctors couldn't find anything wrong with her. Only through counseling did she slowly return to normal. Her mother and I have never learned what caused her problem, although we suspect it had to do with the pressure of her accelerated school program.

A Season of Pebbles is the second book in the Altered Hearts series. Just as Found in Translation involves a mission trip to Mexico, so A Season of Pebbles is about a mission trip to the mountains of California.

Reading Found in Translation first is helpful, but not required. In addition to Kim and Aleesha, this novel also features Kim's best friend, Betsy Jo, the girl who was supposed to have gone to Mexico with her.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Roger E. Bruner (more)

Angel & the Town Curmudgeon by Roger E. Bruner
50-50 by Roger E. Bruner
A Twisted Rainbow by Roger E. Bruner
What If? - a quirky inspirational futuristic parable for adults and almost-adults by Roger E....
When Love Won\'t Wait - His quirkiest romantic novel yet by Roger E. Bruner
Just Friends by Roger E. Bruner
The Devil and Pastor Gus by Roger E. Bruner

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Altered Hearts by Roger E. Bruner
   • Book Review: Found in Translation (Altered Hearts Book 1) by Roger E. Bruner with Kristi Rae Bruner

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.