Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Chariss K. Walker  




Book: The Journey by Chariss K. Walker

Book: The Journey by Chariss K. Walker

categories: Book, Women's Contemporary, Partner Abuse, Partner Rape, Surviving Abuse, Domineering Partners, Escaping Abusive Relationships, Abusive Relationship


Chariss K. Walker

Author Chariss K. Walkerabout this book: Katherine Rutherford Barrett (Katy), age thirty-three, thought life was good again, but she had no idea what was ahead after she met Chuck. She was in for a rude and harsh awakening. It'd been eleven years since the death of her military husband. Then, she was broke with a newborn when her parents took her in and gave her a place to stay. They helped her get dependent benefits for herself and her young child, Samantha (Sammy) and became surrogate parents to Sammy while Katy worked as a bookkeeper at the citrus grove. That had lasted for eight years when the Rutherford's were killed in a four-car pileup on I-95. It was dark days again even though they had made generous provisions for Katy and Sammy in their will. Katy was lonely with her parents gone and then she met Chuck, who pursued her with flowers and sweet notes trying to win her affection and interest. Now, she felt she'd finally found love again. Little did she know that the man she'd fallen in love with was a monster and that all it would take for her to discover this was a move from her home in Ft. Pierce, Florida to his hometown in Asheville, North Carolina. Once again with the family and friends that had shaped his early life, her kind and unassuming love interest turns controlling, abusive, and frightening. Katy has to escape, if not for herself then for Sammy, her eleven year old daughter. But, the new love of her life threatens that there's no place she can run or hide that he won't find her. He promises that when he finds her, he'll make both her and her daughter pay dearly. Read one woman's journey as she plans carefully and listens closely to her inner voice for guidance. (Adult Content)

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book

Other books by Chariss K. Walker (more)

A Medium\'s Valentine\'s Day Delight (Becky Tibbs - A North Carolina Medium\'s Mystery Series...
A Dream Come True - A Novelette for The Vision Chronicles series - (The Vision Chronicles...
A Medium\'s Christmas Gift (Becky Tibbs - A North Carolina Medium\'s Mystery Series Book 3) by...
A Medium\'s Thanksgiving Table (Becky Tibbs - A North Carolina Medium\'s Mystery Series Book...
Serena McKay Crime Novels Complete, Books 1-2 by Chariss K. Walker
An Alec Winters Series Complete, Books 1-4 by Chariss K. Walker
The Vision Chronicles Complete, Books 1-8 by Chariss K. Walker

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: The Unchosen Twins by Zan Henke
   • Book Review: Kept by L.B. Plum

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.