Please recommend askDavid.com
   using these social sharing buttons:
David

Books:  

  

Book: The Devil's Due - An Irish Historical Thriller by L.D. Beyer
A country at war. A man on the run. A woman left behind. Can an innocent man ever go home? Guilty of a crime he didn't commit, IRA soldier Frank Kelleher flees through the streets of war-torn Ireland with both the British and the Irish Republican Army trying to put a bullet in his head. He makes his way to America under an assumed name and with a forged passport, as the war in Ireland rages on. [...]
 
Book: Petticoat Rebels of 1916 - Extraordinary Women in Ireland's Struggle for Freedom by Brighid O'Sullivan
What would you do if you lived in Ireland and children all around you were starving, the few jobs allotted to men were scarce, unemployment so high people crammed together with no heat, no food, and no sanitation, poverty, crime, and infant death skyrocketed above every other country in Europe, and you blamed England? Petticoat Rebels of 1916 is about a some of the strongest, bravest women in [...]
 
Book: Peter's Key - Peter DeLoughry and the Fight for Irish Independence by Declan Dunne
In February, 1919, three Irish revolutionary prisoners walked out of Lincoln Jail without having dug a tunnel or fired a shot. The escape was the culmination of months of planning that involved some of the greatest intellects in Ireland and Britain. Peter DeLoughry (1882-1931) was one of the founding fathers of modern Ireland. His most famous achievement was to make a key that allowed three of [...]
 
Book: 100 Things You Didn't Know About Ireland - A Guide To Irish History and Civilization by Brighid O'Sullivan
Do you love history and learning new things but don't have time for a long book? Are you a fan of Ireland or have Irish roots? What if you could learn tons of facts and be entertained at the same time? This is a fun read and not meant to be an extensive concise book of history. The information is short, suitable for young and old. If you're looking to learn more about Ireland, this is the right [...]
 
Book: Eva Gore Booth, The Other Sister - The Remarkable Sybling of Constance Markievicz by Brighid O'Sullivan
Why would a wealthy Anglo/Irish woman choose to leave the splendor of her large exquisite family home nestled in the lush green hills of Ireland, her own private gardens, and a fairy tale palace where everyone loved her, to live in the slums of Manchester? By the late 19th century, Europe was not only a battlefield, but living conditions of many European cities were only slightly better to those [...]
 
Book: A Few Men Faithful (A Kavanagh Story) by Jim Wills
This first of four Kavanagh stories, A Few Men Faithful, sets the stage, defines the Kavanagh family and tells of a troubled land and an equally troubled romance amid war and treachery. The time span is 1916 to 1924 in Dublin, County Cork and Northern Ireland. Major events: Easter Rising, Secret War, War of Independence, the Irish Civil War. This last is little known and less explored, especially [...]
 
Book: Private Lives by Simon Marshland
What does a man do when he is living one life with flashbacks to two others spread over three centuries? That is the dilemma facing Banker Charlie Parker. Add the abduction of his youngest daughter by terrorists weeks before the family Trust Company's Centenary Celebration at Carnegie Hall and this is a man with problems. There has to be a kidnap link though the security forces have failed come [...]
 
Book: Tales From the Dew Drop Inne by Kenneth Weene
Tales from the Dew Drop Inne" reads like a darkly humorous sitcom. The tone is both heartfelt and deliciously irreverent, showing that one does not need to hate humanity to appreciate the humor of life. Here are tales of drifters, alcoholics, religious renegades, veterans, and drag queens set in pub that is at once a confessional, a circus, and a psychiatric hospital. --Marina Julia Neary, author [...]
 
Book: North Sea Shells by C J Richardson
When German shells hit Hartlepool in 1914, the lives of everyone in the small coastal town are changed forever. With letters from the Front being the only contact she has with husband, George, and both parents now dead, Martha, a naive, young mother, is forced to stand on her own two feet and rebuild her world. Will she stay faithful to her husband while he fights in the trenches? In her struggle [...]
 
Book: Allison's War by Margaret Tanner
Historical Fiction with romantic elements. Some adult themes. In 1916, on the French battlefields, Tommy Calvert's dying confession has the power to ruin the woman he loves. Captain Phillip Ashfield is shocked to find Tommy Calvert mortally wounded. In Tommy's pocket he finds a photo of Allison Waverley holding a baby who is the spitting image of himself. Meanwhile, on the home front, Allison [...]
 
Book: Red Poppies (Seasons of Change Book 4) by Lynette Rees
Heartwarming Historical fiction by Lynette Rees: perfect for fans of Iris Gower and Richard Llewellyn. It's 1916 and Adele Owen from Merthyr Tydfil in South Wales, is standing at the graveside of a dear family member, whilst another was recently killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme. It's a time when the Suffragettes are campaigning for 'Votes for Women', and although they are making [...]
 
Book: The Sins of Soldiers by S. J. Hardman Lea
Silver Medal winner in the 19th Annual Foreword Indies Book of the Year Award 2016 An emotional thriller of a historical novel set in France at the height of the First World War. But who will survive to tell the tale? It is 1916 and the war in France is hot and about to get hotter. Embedded undercover in a British infantry regiment on the Western Front, Anson Scott, an American newspaperman, [...]
 
Book: Five Lamps and Other Stories by Michele McGrath
Thirteen short stories to tickle your fancy Short stories are easy to read and you never lose the plot! Contents Five Lamps In Wartime Liverpool, Frances is returning home for her wedding, but all public transport has been stopped after an air raid. She battles through the darkened streets, hoping to find her fiance, Jamie, waiting for her at Five Lamps, a local landmark in Waterloo. Will she [...]
 
Book: In the Fullness of Time - One Woman's Story of Growth and Empowerment by Katherine P. Stillerman
In this sequel to Hattie's Place, the year is 1913. Hattie Robinson is married to the widowed Charles Barton and has left her teaching position at Calhoun School to raise Charles's sons and manage the Barton estate. Now she must reconcile her role as mother and wife with her work for woman's suffrage, a cause that ignited her passion when attending the Woman's Suffrage Procession in Washington, [...]
 


Books:  

  




Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like askDavid.com? | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.