Please recommend askDavid.com
   using these social sharing buttons:
David

Books:  

  

Book: Little Memories - Missives From the Great War by Nancy Cole Silverman
The 72nd Seaforth Highlanders were a group of Scots-Canadians, often referred to as the Ladies from Hell," known for their Mackenzie tartan kilts, their bayonets, their bagpipes and the action they saw while stationed in France where most of the Great War was fought. But in the stories Childs has chosen to share in Little Memories, are not those of brutal destruction and bloody battle scenes, but [...]
 
Book: The Shadows Come - Sequel to No Longer Alone (WW1 Based on a True Story Book 2) by Melinda Viergever Inman
Germany threatens all of Europe. Millions have died. President Woodrow Wilson makes the declaration that the United States must enter the Great War to rescue our allies. Congress approves. Our story begins. In America's heartland, everyone hunkers down to provide food for the world and resources for the war effort. A draft is necessary, and all young men must register. One by one, these are [...]
 
Book: Under Gaslight by Michelle Wareham
It is 1918. The Great War is coming to an end, and Mary is holding hope her husband, Eli, a soldier, is still alive, although he has not written for three months. Worse still, Eli's army pay has vanished, and Mary's family is barely living on the breadline. At home, in a poverty stricken workers' town in the industrial North of England, there is Mary's mother Beatrix, who will never speak his [...]
 
Book: Lord of the Manor in Australia by Raymond Boyd Dunn
It is the story of one man's obsession to create a dynasty, and his determination to build a monument to his memory. It follows the tenuous line of succession, from the time of the Gympie gold rush, through two World Wars and world-wide depressions, into the twenty-first century, as each generation awaits the birth of a male heir who will become the next 'Lord of the Castle'.
 
Book: An Impossible Marriage by Meriel Brooke
(Note: Originally published as 'An Impossible Marriage' - this is a 2nd and revised edition). "Can I whet your appetite?" With those words Ruth approaches Sam. Will he resist this offer from a glamorous stranger and will he taste his first White Lady? It's 1920 on a cruise ship bound for Singapore. Skirts and hairstyles are short and it's life at close quarters. Sam is going to seek a new life as [...]
 
Book: Secrets of Ghosts by Mardi Orlando
A Secret Society An Abandoned Church And a Shadow Brought together by their mysterious gifts, seven teenagers have been stranded in no-time by their Secret Society. In an abandoned church they find a gathering of ghosted orphans, trapped for over one hundred years. To free these ghosts they will need to discover each of their identities, and to do that, this group of misfits will need to face the [...]
 
Book: Red Poppies (Seasons of Change Book 4) by Lynette Rees
Heartwarming Historical fiction by Lynette Rees: perfect for fans of Iris Gower and Richard Llewellyn. It's 1916 and Adele Owen from Merthyr Tydfil in South Wales, is standing at the graveside of a dear family member, whilst another was recently killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme. It's a time when the Suffragettes are campaigning for 'Votes for Women', and although they are making [...]
 
Book: Who Let The Ghosts Out? by Stephen Gray
This is a ghost story with a serious moral lesson, about an actual event and place. A Civil War veteran, Admiral Casper, becomes a federal whistle blower. He is upset about being forgotten in an unmarked grave, in a desecrated cemetery, that is now a city dog park. For almost fifty years this federal crime went unreported. MASS DESECRATION OF VETERANS GRAVES.
 
Book: Shadowed in Silk by Christine Lindsay
She was invisible to those who should have loved her. After the Great War, Abby Fraser returns to India with her small son, where her husband is stationed with the British army. She has longed to go home to the land of glittering palaces and veiled women . . . but Nick has become a cruel stranger. It will take more than her American pluck to survive. Major Geoff Richards, broken over the loss of [...]
 
Book: The Dandelion Clock - A wish to end all wishes. The war to end all wars. by Rebecca Bryn
Families torn apart by the Great War. When war is declared in August 1914, Bill, a farm boy brought up in a village on the Duke of Buccleuch's Northamptonshire estate, is plucking up his courage to ask his sweetheart, Florrie, to marry him. Florrie has given up her dream of being a dancer to bring up her siblings and protect them from their violent and abusive widowed father. For her, marriage to [...]
 
Book: Swearing Allegiance (The Carmody Saga Book 1) by Jana Petken
Winner of the 2017 outstanding historical book of the year, The IAN Awards - Silver Medallist, the 2017 Readers' Favourite Awards - The 2017 Finalist, Indie Excellence Awards. The second and final book in the series will be available in early 2020! The multi-award-winning author of The Guardian of Secrets, Dark Shadows, and The Errant Flock presents the Multi Award Winning, Swearing Allegiance: [...]
 
Book: Twice a Hero - From the trenches of the Great War to the ditches of the Irish Midlands 1915 - 1922 by Phil Tomkins
Twice a Hero is the true story of George Adamson, a young Irish patriot and rebel, who started his quest for freedom by joining the Irish Volunteers in Moate, Athlone, in the Irish Midlands. Then, on the promise of Home Rule for Ireland at the war's end, he enlisted in the British Army and fought in two forgotten conflicts, the Great War, Salonika & Palestine. Decorated for bravery, he returned [...]
 
Book: Captured by Moonlight (Twilight of the British Raj) by Christine Lindsay
Prisoners to their own broken dreams... After a daring rescue goes awry, Laine Harkness and her friend Eshana flee to the tropical south of India...and headlong into their respective pasts. Laine takes a nursing position at a plantation in the jungle, only to discover that her former fiance is the owner...but fun-loving Laine refuses to let Adam crush her heart like he had years ago. Eshana, [...]
 
Book: Allison's War by Margaret Tanner
Historical Fiction with romantic elements. Some adult themes. In 1916, on the French battlefields, Tommy Calvert's dying confession has the power to ruin the woman he loves. Captain Phillip Ashfield is shocked to find Tommy Calvert mortally wounded. In Tommy's pocket he finds a photo of Allison Waverley holding a baby who is the spitting image of himself. Meanwhile, on the home front, Allison [...]
 
Book: Via Baltica by Allan Neil
A pensioner goes off on his own on a 6000 mile car trip that takes him round the Baltic Sea through Scandinavia, the Baltic Republics, Poland and Germany During the second half of his journey he is constantly reminded of man's latent cruelty to man ending with a poignant visit to the WW1 battlefield at Passchendaele.
 
Book: The Airshipmen - A Novel Based on a True Story. A Tale of Love, Betrayal & Political Intrigue by David Dennington
A riveting story that plays out against the background of one of the most intriguing chapters in aviation history. David Dennington weaves a fascinating web of romance, courage, tragedy and shattered dreams and gives the reader a front row seat to eye-opening, high-stakes political battles on two continents. A real page turner with the constant feeling that something new and unexpected is about [...]
 


Books:  

  




Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like askDavid.com? | Boost Your Karma

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.