Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Dean Mayes  




Book: The Recipient by Dean Mayes

Book: The Recipient by Dean Mayes

star rating  4.7 stars based on the 3 most helpful Amazon reviews
categories: Book, Murder Mystery, Medical, Crime, Psychological Thriller, Horror, Australia, Heart Transplant, Surgery, Melbourne, Ellen Ripley, Mystery Thriller

Dean Mayes

Author Dean Mayesabout this book: The Recipient is a unique mystery/thriller about a young woman who, in the aftermath of receiving a life saving heart transplant, discovers a terrifying secret about the heart she now carries inside her chest.

I was inspired to write The Recipient after having a particularly vivid and disturbing nightmare about being violently attacked. The nightmare was so powerful that when I woke from it, I was compelled to write down as much as I could remember of it. Later that day, I attended an education session at the hospital where I was working at the time. It was about the transplant journey and for some reason, I began recalling the nightmare. Soon I had my notebook out again and, rather than listening to the speaker, I was madly scribbling additional notes and before long, I had the basic idea for a cracking thriller that drew on elements of my medical expertise, fascination with the genre and the notion of cellular memory - memories and predilections that have been transferred from the organ donor to the recipient.

The Recipient would appeal to fans of taut, action oriented thrillers in the vein of Girl on the Train and Dark Places where strong but troubled female protagonists feature heavily.

The Recipient took two years to write from conception to publication. I devoted a lot of this time to researching the transplant journey from a medical and nursing perspective as well as researching police procedure and what makes a good crime fiction novel.

The cover design was jointly conceived by myself and Michelle Halket of Central Avenue Publishing. Michelle posed the idea of a Rorschach heart - a nod to the paychological aspects of the novel and together we developed the notion of that heart being imprisoned in a web of veins.

The Recipient, my third novel, was a labor of love that I am really proud of and I appreciate each and every single reader who has taken a chance on it. I hope that you will too.

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book,  Read reviews  or  Add to wish list

Read eBooks using the free Kindle Reading App

Other books by Dean Mayes

The Hambledown Dream by Dean Mayes
Gifts of the Peramangk by Dean Mayes

▾ reviews voted most helpful on ▾

 Read more reviews or Submit your own review 

Video: "The Recipient" - a tense and pulse pounding thriller, in the tradition of Jeffrey Deaver and James Patterson

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Road To Transplant by Brian M. Hayden
   • Book Review: Losing Heart by Donna Brown

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma