Please recommend
   using these social sharing buttons:




  book details  


  books by Robert Hammond  




Book: C. B. DeMille - The Man Who Invented Hollywood by Robert Hammond

Book: C. B. DeMille - The Man Who Invented Hollywood by Robert Hammond

categories: Book, Historical Fiction, Old Hollywood, Cecil B. Demille, Biopic, Classic Hollywood, Paramount Pictures, Steven Spielberg, Filmmaking, Hollywood Directors, Movies, Filmmakers, Hollywood

Robert Hammond

Author Robert Hammondabout this book: In 1913, California was nothing more than orange groves and desert - until a man with vision came along and invented Hollywood. C.B. DeMille turned a run-down horse barn into Paramount Studios and transformed the tiny farming community into the motion picture capital of the world. Today, as we celebrate the 100th anniversary of Hollywood filmmaking, Mr. DeMille is finally ready for his own close-up.

C.B. DeMille: The Man Who Invented Hollywood blends parody, satire, historical fiction, creative nonfiction, apocryphal accounts, allegory, poetic license, urban legend, scholarly research, works in the public domain, and the author's vivid imagination.

The story follows visionary director Cecil B. DeMille who leaves his wife and daughter in New York to pioneer the film industry and usher in Hollywood's Golden Age. C.B. DeMille battles greedy producers, fierce rivals, and his own vices to make such biblical epics as The King of Kings, Samson and Delilah, and The Ten Commandments. His life is as epic as his blockbuster pictures and the novel is the basis for the forthcoming biopic in the vein of The Aviator and A Beautiful Mind. Imagine Sunset Boulevard meets Citizen Kane as you are ushered into the world of glamour, adventure, intrigue, and imagination. Ready when you are!

preview: read a sample from this book

what to read next: if you read and liked this book...

Learn more about this book,  Read reviews  or  Add to wish list

Read eBooks using the free Kindle Reading App

Other books by Robert Hammond

The Light by Robert Hammond
Blockbuster Resumes by Robert Hammond
Ready When You Are - Cecil B. DeMille\'s Ten Commandments for Success by Robert Hammond

▾ reviews voted most helpful on ▾

 Read more reviews or Submit your own review 

Video: C. B. DeMille - The Man Who Invented Hollywood by Robert Hammond

This book on





More Reviews

   • Book Review: Ready When You Are - Cecil B. DeMille's Ten Commandments for Success by Robert Hammond
   • Book Review: The Garden on Sunset (Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels Book 1) by Martin Turnbull

  show list of all published reviews | subscribe to the feed

Home | Contact | Legal Notice | Impressum Book Promotion | Do you like | Boost Your Karma